This web site is about cnet web hosting reviews, java web hosting reviews, cheap web hosting provider, host gator coupons, web hosting directory. All the news about cnet web hosting reviews

Monday, June 09, 2008

Another short live streaming media server review

live streaming media server review and suggestion

Original post blogged on b2evolution.

SEO Fiction

Tue, 22 Apr 2008 13:29:21 +0000
SEO fiction from the SEO contest called retsambew dash klat for charity. Can you guess the keyword phrase we competed for?

Free Download: Download Your Free Copy of My Best of the Web Hosting Show Guides eBook!

Mitch Keeler - like this? visit | |

8 Drawbacks to Free Web Hosting

Thu, 13 Mar 2008 12:26:32 GMT
Being that I own a web hosting company, I frequently surf through online forums replying to people’s hosting questions. Of all the questions I answer, I see one that appears over and over again, what are the drawbacks of free web hosting?

Submit Search Engine

Tue, 08 Apr 2008 15:59:50 +0000
List of major search engine and how to submit.
Copyright © 2007Dapur Hosting(digitalfingerprint: 8f57a6d5215d02f26c482a6410e1682f)Share This

live streaming media server Products we recommend

hostgator is a privately owned company that was founded in the year 2002. Host
gator provides reseller web hosting and shared hosting solutions. The website is
instrumental in offering its services to over 400,000 websites on their shared
and reseller plans. It is a leading provider of reseller accounts and boasts of
over 10,000 resellers who have chosen hostgator to provide the network, servers,
and support required to launch a hosting business. The company seemingly holds a
high rung and is well regarded in the web hosting community.

Host Gator

The company commenced its operation in 2002 and uses the Planet data center in
Dallas Texas. Their servers are dual Xeons with 4GB memory and IDE Raid hard

hostgator offers the following types of web hosting plans :

� Shared

� Reseller

� Dedicated

Shared Plans:

Customers have a many options to choose from under this plan and it comes with
the Cpanel control panel. Quality services and support is offered 24/7 via
phone, live chat, and an email ticket system. All their plans offer unlimited
domain names (except hatchling) as well as a lot of bandwidth and disk space.
Below are the options or plan categories available under this plan:

1. Hatchling:

Under this plan category, 50 GB of disk space and 200 GB of bandwidth is
offered. Other services include 20 sub domains, 20 FTP accounts, 20 POP3
accounts and 1 domain is also allowed. This service is priced at $6.95 a month;
that is charged annually.

2. Baby:

This plan category offers 100 GB of disk space and 1000 GB of bandwidth.
Moreover, it offers unlimited domains, sub domains, FTP accounts and POP3
accounts. This service is priced at $9.95 a month.

3. Swamp:

Under this category, customers get an access to 200 GB of disk space and 2000 GB
of bandwidth. The plan offers unlimited domains, sub domains, FTP accounts and
POP3 accounts. This service is priced at $14.95 per month.

4. Semi-Dedicated:

This plan category offers 25 GB of disk space and 500 GB of bandwidth. The plan
offers unlimited domains, sub domains, FTP accounts and POP3 accounts. This
service is priced at $74.95 per month.

Reseller Plans:

hostgator�s reseller hosting plans come with the Cpanel (your customers or
endusers control panel) and WHM (reseller control panels to create Cpanels for
your customers or end users) control panels. hostgator resellers have the
flexibility to host unlimited sites. Quality services and support is offered
24/7 via phone, live chat, and an email ticket system. Besides offering
unlimited domain names; the reseller account also offers free domain registry
account (eNom domain reseller account), free hosting templates, a billing
program, and much more. Below are the options or plan categories available under
this plan:

1. Aluminum Reseller Plan:

Under this plan category, 12 GB of disk space and 125 GB of bandwidth is
provided. The plan offers unlimited domains, sub domains, FTP accounts and POP3
accounts. This service is priced at $24.95 per month.

2. Copper Reseller Plan:

The copper reseller plan offers its customers 20 GB of disk space and 175 GB of
bandwidth. The plan offers unlimited domains, sub domains, FTP accounts and POP3
accounts. This service is priced at $34.95 per month.

3. Silver Reseller Plan:

30 GB of disk space and 250 GB of bandwidth is offered under this particular
plan. The copper reseller plan offers its customers 20 GB of disk space and 175
GB of bandwidth. The plan offers unlimited domains, sub domains, FTP accounts
and POP3 accounts. This service is priced at $49.95 per month.

4. Gold Reseller Plan:

40 GB of disk space and 300 GB of bandwidth is offered under this plan category.
The plan offers unlimited domains, sub domains, FTP accounts and POP3 accounts.
This service is priced at $74.95 per month.

5. Diamond Reseller Plan:

50 GB of disk space and 350 GB of bandwidth is offered under this plan category.
The plan offers unlimited domains, sub domains, FTP accounts and POP3 accounts.
This service is priced at $99.95 per month.

Dedicated Plans:

The plan includes complete server management as well as a control panel with
every server. The best part of a dedicated server is that you can customize it
to suit your requirements and get the most out of the plan. Moreover, you get to
choose which operating system you want to run which include Red Hat Linux 9.0,
RHEL3, RHEL4, CentOS, or FreeBSD. Any aspect can also be upgraded such as memory
or disk drives. Below are the options or plan categories available under this

1. Basic Dedicated Plan:

There are no set up charges for this plan category and the processor provided is
Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz. The plan offers a bandwidth of 1500 GB and a hard drive of
80 GB, SATA. Upto 5 IP addresses are allowed and the plan offers unlimited
domains, sub domains, FTP accounts and POP3 accounts. This service is priced at
$174 per month.

2. Standard Dedicated Plan:

There are no set up charges for this plan category and the processor provided is
a Dual Xeon 2.4. The plan offers a bandwidth of 2500 GB and a hard drive of
2�80gb SATA. Upto 5 IP addresses are allowed and the plan offers unlimited
domains, sub domains, FTP accounts and POP3 accounts. This service is priced at
$219 per month.

3. Elite Dedicated Plan:

There are no set up charges for this plan category and the processor provided is
Dual Xeon 2.8. The plan offers a bandwidth of 2500 GB and a hard drive of 2�73gb
SCSI. Upto 5 IP addresses are allowed and the plan offers unlimited domains, sub
domains, FTP accounts and POP3 accounts. This service is priced at $279 per

4. Pro Dedicated Plan:

There are no set up charges for this plan category and the processor provided is
Dual-Core 3060 Conroe. The plan offers a bandwidth of 2500 GB and a hard drive
of 4�500gb SATA II RAID10. Upto 5 IP addresses are allowed and the plan offers
unlimited domains, sub domains, FTP accounts and POP3 accounts. This service is
priced at $374 per month.

Click Here to go to hostican website.

It took great skill and will power to complete this article on live streaming media server. We also request you to use your skill and will power to understand this matter.

affordable hosting


Document for cheap domain registrations

Defination of cheap domain registrations

Cheers to Peer 1 for an entertaining post. Also don’t forget about their related contest too:

Does this mean that it is actually possible to have a relatively new site with very low traffic running a successful thriving hosting business? You bet it is. Here’s how.

Wachovia Capital Partners is the private equity investing arm of Wachovia Corporation, the fourth largest bank holding company in the U.S. Since the group’s inception in 1988, WCP has invested in excess of $3.5 billion of private equity capital on behalf of Wachovia. WCP’s current investment portfolio is comprised of 43 companies. WCP is making this investment from WCP II, L.P., a $1.8 billion fund.


The cost of acquiring a premium domain names is cheaper than continuously paying for local or regional print advertising.

Go to

Today`s suggestion:

For almost all new website owners, finding the perfect host is a time consuming
and stressful process. works hard to simplify the process, and
makes choosing the perfect hosting package as easy as possible. They feature
packages that will suit websites of almost all types, no matter what the
bandwidth requirements, storage needs, or language support.

When you visit the hostgator website, you will first find several aspects of the
site itself that make moving forward intuitive. Their phone numbers are
immediately available should you have any questions, and several different
packages are only a click or two away. From their $4.95 per month shared hosting
package, to their dedicated server offerings starting from $174 per month, there
is a solution for all different budgets, levels of experience, and feature

For the experienced domain and hosting guru, website domain name
hosting offers free domain transfer, free file transfers, free database
transfers, and free script transfers, among other things. These services make
moving your existing websites to hostgator a breeze, allowing you to focus on
the more important aspects of website ownership, such as content creation and
customer service.

Speaking of customer support, hostgator offers amazing support to all customers,
no matter which hosting package they may subscribe to. From 24 hour telephone
support, to flash tutorials, to an extremely comprehensive knowledge base, makes getting your questions answered an exceedingly efficient and
rewarding process. No longer will you have to wait days to receive an e-mail
response from your current host. Answers to basic, account related questions, as
well as the most advanced technical questions, are just a phone call away at all
times. The phone support staff has proven to be quite helpful, and wait times
while seeking technical support of any kind is generally minimal.

Regarding their hosting packages, one of the more interesting and cost effective
packages seems to be the most popular option available on hostgator.Com. For
$7.95 per month, website owners can enjoy hosting unlimited websites, free
set-up, 600 gigabytes of storage, and 6,000 gigabytes of bandwidth. Given the
rates of other hosting providers for similar services, it is very easy to see
how inexpensive hostgator actually is.

Hosting your website doesn�t have to be a nightmare. By finding a quality host
that will assist you in the process of getting set up, such as,
you will be able to focus on promotional efforts, as opposed to constant
technical issues with your website itself.

Click Here to go to hostican website.

This is our humble presentation on cheap domain registrations. Your reading it will add the necessary weightage to the presentation.

Microsoft - Windows Marketplace
Chairs at Office Depot!

hosting services
image host
| | |


Saturday, June 07, 2008

counter strike servers Reviews & News

counter strike servers Items For Viewing

General Impression

World Number One

At a time like this, when only the strongest companies survive, choosing the
right one is imperative. 1&1 is proud to be both the world's biggest web host,
and the fastest growing. Their global community is 6 million people strong. They
are financially very stable, profitable, and will be serving and protecting your
website for many years to come.

Combining over 40,000 fully-tuned servers with the renowned performance of
Juniper and Cisco routers, 1&1 utilizes the best products from the world's
leading technology manufacturers and service providers. 1&1 is a Microsoft Joint
Development Partner, and works with other paramount companies such as Google,
Plesk, Symantec, and HP/Compaq.

No matter what the cause, network downtime hurts your credibility, your sales,
and your business. 1&1 uses its experience and expertise in hosting to deliver
99.9 % uptime, so your website is there when you need it.

Price & Cost Effectiveness

All 1&1 products have been designed to provide the ideal combination of features
and affordability, with no pricing gimmicks or hidden costs. You simply won't
find a better value for your money!

Proven Products, Honest Pricing

From convenient Instant Domain and Instant Website packages to all-inclusive
Shared Hosting plans, powerful Dedicated Servers and ready-to-run eShops, 1&1
offers a complete range of web services for every need, every skill level and
every budget.


At 1&1, even their fail-safes have fail-safes. Backup generators, multiple hard
drives, dual routers, cooling systems and gel battery power banks give them real
redundancy so their fleet of 40,000 high-end servers will continue to operate
regardless of external conditions. In the event the grid is down, five huge
16-cylinder diesel generators supply constant, reliable power for all systems.

Eight high-powered cooling units rated at 5,600 KW and two spiral vortex
compressors work alongside bespoke heat exchangers to keep everything cool.
Every system is n+1 redundant

They use their own backbone and top carriers like Sprint and Level3 to power
your website all over the world. Compare with other web hosts and you'll see why
1&1's speed and reliability make them the clear choice.

Data Center (toured)

They guarantee the highest product quality, top security, and unshakeable
reliability. 1&1's advanced Data Centers have been built from the ground up
using the most advanced technology available, giving their global network a
strength that is beyond doubt. The power and stability of 1&1's systems allows
them to be first to market with web products that are innovative yet dependable.

Powered by advanced information storage technology, 1&1's state-of-the-art Data
Centers keep your website running and your valuable information safe.

24/7 monitoring by Internet specialists, 150+ permanently recording video
cameras, safety locks and more ensure that only authorized personnel can enter
1&1 Data Centers, your data is always safe and secure.

The security airlock ensures that only authorized personnel can enter Data
Center IV. Only one person can pass through the airlock at one time.

Their industry-leading 18,000 MBit Connectivity allows for no-nonsense, fast
transfers at all times. The result is that more users can access and interact
with your website, faster.

When it comes to reliable web hosting, connectivity is everything. At 1&1,
you'll have access to over 18,000 MBit of external connectivity. That means
faster loading times and higher multi-user capacity for your website.

All 1&1 Data Centers are protected and monitored by automated support systems
that permit real-time analysis, review, and maintenance for all clients. All
technology used has been n+1 engineered throughout to avoid any single point of
failure in connectivity, redundancy or power and is monitored around the clock
by specialist network technicians.

Customer Service

All products come with "90-Day Money Back Guarantee" "24/7 Phone & E-mail
Support" and "Online FAQs" and support is fast, no worries from this point of

Contact Information and Support

Information by Phone

1-877-GO-1and1 (1-877-461-2631) for information about products, features or

Representatives are available Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 8:00 pm EST,
excluding national holidays.

Your questions about products, features or prices to

1&1's Technical Support team is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and can
be reached by phone and e-mail.

From your Control Panel

Log in to the 1&1 Control Panel, select your contract and click "Help & Contact"
to locate our support team Contact Form as well as the phone number for our
toll-free support line.

Online FAQs

Use the in-depth FAQ section on their website to get additional tips. It's a
great way to learn how to fine tune your website, enhance your e-mail features
and more.

US Headquarters

1&1 Internet Inc.

701 Lee Road, Suite 300

Chesterbrook, PA 19087

Phone: 1-877-GO-1and1

Fax: 610-560-1501

Website Development

1&1 Internet Inc.


701 Lee Road, Suite 300

Chesterbrook, PA 19087


1&1 has grown into the largest web hosting company in the world for good reason.
With affordable products and impeccable service, you can trust that 1&1 will do
a great job hosting your site!

Click Here to go to hostican website.

There is no need of stressing on the point that we have put all our efforts in compiling what is written here of counter strike servers. Just hope you appreciate it.

Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions (
Download Microsoft Vista Instantly! Direct from Microsoft.

friend space
front page web hosting
frontpage web hosting
generic host process
| | |


Understanding host gator cpanel

Now that we have come to the end of this composition on host gator cpanel, we do hope that you enjoyed reading it as much as we enjoyed writing it.

ecommerce web hosting review
email hosting


small business web hosting and More

Life is full of questions; so this article was written with the intention of solving the question on small business web hosting. Sure do hope that your questions have been answered.

cheap web hosting review
cheap web hosting reviews
cheap web hosting services
cheap web hosting solution
| |


Another Great web page design Article

All about web page design

The ideal candidate will have extensive knowledge of enterprise software products and have experience managing a wide range of software on multiple platforms.

Unlike other eBook deals, you get an extra perk with this setup.� You can download both the digital eBook version, or head over the the official page for it and pick up all five chapters as audio downloads too.� I wanted to give to you the best of both worlds.� The topics covered in the eBook cover all aspects of the web hosting world:

Imitation is Flattering

Thu, 06 Dec 2007 20:04:38 +0000
You know the old saying:
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.
We couldn’t agree more!
Site5 Marketing Guru and Sales Team member Taylor Hawes was recently browsing website templates to get some ideas for the next major revision of our homepage when he came across an auction for a hosting template. It wasn’t the template that caught ...]

The company declared that it has recently upgraded its entire line of reseller hosting plans, increasing storage space, bandwidth, and adding features.

To learn more about Host The Best’s HTB Monitoring Script, please visit:

business web hosting


Tuesday, June 03, 2008

Document about best web hosts

Questions and answers about best web hosts

Ad Changes and File Server

Mon, 27 Nov 2006 20:22:56 +0000
Some minor updates on today. I changed our ad server, the previous version wasn’t always showing ads correctly in Internet Explorer browser. It would sometimes come up blank which was very strange. I also upgraded some scripts on the site.
Since I added the new image verification for comments I’ve only received 1 comment spam. ...]

Whaling Scam Uses Tax Alert as Bait

Tue, 03 Jun 2008 00:00:00 EST
June 3, 2008 -- ( <> WEB HOST INDUSTRY REVIEW) -- A new whaling scam -- a large-scaled phishing scam -- is using a fraudulent US Tax Court notification email that targets executives for financial gain.

Liquid Web to Announce New HQ

Fri, 23 May 2008 00:00:00 +0000
Web hosting and data center provider Liquid Web said on Friday it will soon announce the location for its brand new multi million dollar world headquarters facility.

The Power of Search Engine Friendly URLs

Thu, 05 Jan 2006 00:00:00 EST
I recently invested quite some time into generating search engine friendly URLs for several of my websites to increase my ranking and to have more pages indexed.

Well a lot more hosting podcast goodness right here on this week’s edition of the Web Hosting Show.

best web hosts Items For Viewing

I've been with hostgator since around August of 2004. I signed up with a
reseller account to use as hosting for both myself and clients. My problems
began about a year ago with them, sometime in February or March of 2005 when one
of my sites was getting too much traffic. Now, I'm no fool. I understand that
shared hosting oversells and anyone who uses too many resources, even if still
within their quota, gets kicked off. What really shocked me, though, was no
warning. Not even emailing me after they had done it. Nothing, nada. I found out
by a member of the site that was suspended, someone I didn't even know, tracking
down my phone number and calling me.

I went to a dedicated server after that, but I kept my hostgator account for the
sites that were already hosted on it - about three client sites, as well as this
site right here.

Two days ago I come to post a blog and hmm, I get the suspended page. That's
weird. I check my email - no notices there. I log into their billing system -
nope, account not past due. What the heck? So I go to their online support chat
and ask them what's going on. I'm informed that I haven't paid my invoice. What
invoice? I have no invoice. I check my bank and I see that I in fact have not
paid them since January. But man, I could've swore I put it on automatic pay.
And hey, if there's no invoice, how can I pay anyway?! Isn't this a problem on
their end? They tell me I need to email sales.

Okay... so I email sales. 12 hours later, they email me back and inform me I
have an invoice, charging me all the way back to October. Uhhh? I KNOW I paid in
January, I have it in my bank statement. I check their billing system, and they
don't even have a backlog of that payment. Something really funky is going on
now. Their system is screwed up, but no matter who I talk to (and oh, I've
talked to everyone) nobody seems to know what's going on. Sales doesn't talk to
support, online support doesn't talk to phone support, so who the hell knows.

Strangely enough, while on the phone with a support guy who informed me I just
need to pay the invoice and then dispute it afterwards, I received an email from
a different support person that my account had been reactivated, and thank you
for the payment. Whaaat? Uh, whatever. At this point I'm just going to take what
I can get and run. Now I at least have backups of all my sites and am moving

It's just astounding how bad a service this has been. I even posted on their
forums about it, in their "Customer Review" section, and it gets MOVED to
another section because I can't post a bad customer review simply because I

Other problems I've had? Well, let's see. About a week ago my sites reverted
back a day and I could get no explanation on why. I had JUST looked at my access
logs the day before, happy about a new site that was already getting hits, and
the next day - logs are back to a day before. Weird. I contact online support
(bad idea, since it's always horrible support) and they have no idea. I guess I
imagined things?

UPDATE 4-20-07: Well, they finally just simply decided to take their bogus bonus
from my credit card that was filed with them, despite the fact that it's
incorrect, I didn't approve of the payment, or anything else. I've never seen
such bad service, support in my life. I can't even be bothered to dispute it
it's just so amazingly horrible.

UPDATE 10-18-07: I'm still with them, why? I don't know - so lazy when it comes
to my own websites. Anyway, so a couple days ago I notice my "main" reseller
account, the site is completely missing. Email is no longer working. I log into
Cpanel to see that it appears my whole site has disappeared. Cute!

Click Here to go to hostican website.

The aim of this article was to spread as much information on best web hosts as possible. We surely do hope that we have succeeded in it.

Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions (
Download Word 2007 Instantly! Direct from Microsoft.

free web hosts
| |


Defination of fast web hosting

Another Great fast web hosting Article

CSS Validator

Sun, 09 Mar 2008 03:49:00 +0000
Check Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) and (X)HTML documents with style sheets:
Copyright © 2007Dapur Hosting(digitalfingerprint: 8f57a6d5215d02f26c482a6410e1682f)Share This

Customization vs Standardization, or What Amazon and Rackshack Have in Common

Tue, 27 Feb 2007 23:27:00 -0400

In early 2001, just a few months before Exodus filed for bankruptcy, Robert Marsh launched Rackshack. Unlike his struggling competitors, who typically built servers to spec, Robert sold $99 Cobalt RaQs. Only one configuration was available, and orders were provisioned instantly and automatically. And instead of demanding multi-year commitments, Rackshack offered month to month service. By the time I joined the company in early 2003, Rackshack (which later changed its name to EV1Servers) had become the world's largest dedicated server provider.

A year or so later, Robert unveiled EV1's private racks program during a customer gathering; two attendees signed up on the spot. Soon other orders starting pouring in, along with complicated network diagrams and super detailed server specs from customers who wanted their systems built just so. We did our best to accommodate any and all requests, which were a huge challenge to keep track of. Only much later did I learn about ITIL from Rich Bader over at EasyStreet. By that time, Amazon had already launched S3 and would soon introduce EC2.

Unlike EV1's Custom Order team, who gladly built whatever customers asked, EC2 sells only $0.10 virtual server instances. There's just one configuration available, and orders are provisioned instantly and automatically. Instead of demanding month-long commitments, Amazon offers pay-as-you-go service in 1 hour units.

According to Vinne Marchanadi from Deal Architect, pay-as-you-go is what large customers nowadays are looking for. (A former Gartner analyst, Vinnie now advises enterprise IT buyers on vendor selection.) He offers the analogy of plugging into an efficient power source versus buying fancy generators. On behalf of his clients, he says:

"Message to vendors - so long as you meet our security, privacy and compliance standards, we want as vanilla, standardized a service as possible. Sell us capacity by unit of consumption. We want to leverage all your economies - in financing, procurement, operations, everything. In return, we want to fit as much as possible in to your standards."

Another couple of years from now, will standardization again give way to customization? I think the answer is yes. And no. Amazon recently started offering Machine Image sharing. And VMWare's virtual appliance marketplace features about 400 listings. And offers over 500 partner apps on AppExchange. And earlier this month Netvibes unveiled its universal widget API... It seems service delivery platforms will become more - not less - standardized, while each user will have increasing freedom to mix and match a wide range of interoperable applications into highly customized solutions. Doesn't that sound like the best of both worlds?

Here is our policy:

For more information about Rackspace Managed Hosting, please visit:

Yahoo Search Marketing Coupon Updated

Wed, 28 May 2008 21:32:04 +0000

This article on fast web hosting is supposed to be very useful to one seeking more information on fast web hosting. Do you think so?

free web hosting reviews
free web hosting sites
| |


Today's cheap web hosting domain Article

Recommended cheap web hosting domain Items

If you are looking for professional web hosting you definitely have to visit
this website. The service level they�ve built in the last decade was handcrafted
by some of the most gifted individuals in the hosting industry. Their hosting
packages meet your demands, may it be for a complex business website, content
related to your family or your hobby. Sign up now and get the best hosting
plans. You may get up to $485 in free marketing just because you�ve signed up in
IX Web Hosting. Checkout their Web Design Special and get to; redesign and
increase sales and get a new professional design at a fraction of regular cost.
Stay clam this site has no hidden fees, zero setup fees and the domains for
free. Over 200,000 domains in their own data center in the US. This website
offers customers reliable servers of brand name hardware. It is a source for
hosting solutions. It allows customers to create professional looking websites
without any programming knowledge or web design skills.

Click Here to go to ixwebhosting

We hope that this ending of our article on cheap web hosting domain proves to be a beginning to your interest in cheap web hosting domain! Now get down to learning more about cheap web hosting domain!

Compusa (Systemax, Inc.)
The Best Electronic deals on the web at CompUSA!

fast web hosting
| | |


web hosting sites review directory

Learn all about web hosting sites review

You can get $50 dollars instant discount on hostican shared hosting plan sign up, by using the Hostican Coupon : BestHosting-12

Ensim Pro and Ensim Unify by Ensim

Sun, 13 Mar 2005 00:00:00 EST
One of the best funded virtualization vendors, Ensim offers several classes of products that cater to different hosting needs. The company's products are geared toward both smaller hosts that rent space on a dedicated or shared server and larger Web hosting firms ..

WebHost Monkeys

Fri, 11 Jan 2008 11:46:05 -0600
A dummies' guide to webhosting, web design, SEO, some CSS, and related stuff.

1&1 Partners with Open-Xchange, but are They Competing with Microsoft or Google?

Mon, 26 Feb 2007 22:14:00 -0400

BusinessWeek reports that 1&1 will soon start deploying Open-Xchange mailboxes in Germany, followed by rollouts in the US, Britain and France. The article reports that 1&1 manages 5 million email accounts on behalf of 2.7 million web hosting customers. (This is wildly inconsistent with the 6 million hosting customers and 65 million emails accounts in 1&1's Business 2.0 ad. Maybe these figures include users from 1&1 parent company United Internet's and GMX portals business?)

With Open-Xchange's open source solution, 1&1 will be able to offer Microsoft Exchange-like features for $5 per user per month, versus its $10-$15 $6.99 current price. BusinessWeek says this is "nothing but bad news" for Microsoft, but are Microsoft and Open-Xchange competing with each other? Or should both be worried that end users like Steve Rubel are turning Gmail into their personal nerve centers?

Steve is a senior VP at Edelman PR, an enormous organization that no doubt has an industrial strength email system, but Steve is hooked on Gmail because:

"Everyday I come across something on the web that I want to save for future reference... since I travel a lot, I need to access my bits from a mobile device. The latest version of the Google Toolbar has a send to Gmail function. Select some text or graphics, right click on it and send it to Gmail... Whammo - an instant personal database."

A friend who works at Microsoft says he can use his Windows Mobile phone to search his Exchange archive as well. But 10 GB Gmail accounts are available for $4.17 each per month (mobile client, website builder and web-based word processor and spreadsheet included). That's a 10x larger personal database compared with 1&1's 1GB allocation (Outlook 2003 and free domain name included).

Another important question is, to what extent will 1&1 be able to drive Open-Xchange adoption? Yes, as the world's largest hosting provider, 1&1 can deliver an enormous audience. But seeing is *not* deploying. As a point of reference, when I switched from (POP mail + Outlook + Blackberry) to (Google Apps + Gmail mobile) last week, I realized that despite the conveniently-located Google Start Page icon on my control panel, I still like Netvibes better. But thanks to the Gmail and Google Calendar widgets on Netvibes, I was able to piece together a best of all worlds solution.

If I were 1&1 CEO Andreas Gauger, I would think along the same lines and open up my community and technology platform.
Customer A might prefer Gmail + 1&1's website builder, while Customer B might choose Open-Xchange mail + Google Pages. Why not use widgets, RSS and open APIs to help each user concoct his perfect combination?

Troubleshoot Your Hosting Woes - Episode 148

Mon, 14 Apr 2008 10:04:42 +0000
From coast to coast, and all around the hosting world we all have times where we contact support and they say that nothing is wrong. Today I’ll show you how to paint a better picture for support of your hosting problems as well as…
Well a lot more hosting podcast goodness right here on this ...]

Looks like I’m about 15 years too late on that one. Some clever soul reserved back in January 1993 when I was in the fetal stages of Internet growth. Can’t say I’m surprised. If you are, I’ve got some .info’s over in Iceland that I’d like to sell you:). Have you noticed that just about any occurence of the word webhosting + any valuable keyword has been registered by domainers, SEO’s or individual businesses?

The Future of SaaS, and What Puts ThinkFree Ahead of Google

Thu, 08 Mar 2007 18:30:00 -0400

ThinkFree is way cool! I signed up for an account earlier this week, and its web-based spreadsheet, word processor and slide presentation apps work beautifully. TJ Kang, the company's founder, has been developing office productivity software since the 1980s, and it shows.

Founded in 1999. ThinkFree spent its early years as a desktop software company. Its online edition was released in April 2005. Now the LA Library offers it on 2,200 computers across 71 branches, and NHN, a Korean telco with 20 million subscribers, has integrated the product with its email system. In addition, over 250,000 individual users have signed up for accounts.

Unlike Zoho, which offers an amazing breadth of hosted services, ThinkFree focuses on three applications - but makes them available in more forms than you can imagine. Let's count them:

1. The ThinkFree-hosted edition

2. The server edition (for self-hosting by enterprise customers and on-premise hosting by telco and ISP partners)

3. The iPod edition (so that you can travel with your sales presentation, but not your computer)

4. The USB edition (which allows you to edit documents on someone else's computer without leaving any trace of your work after you disconnect)

5. The upcoming premier edition (which allows synchronized online/offline document editing), and

6. The also upcoming SMB edition (which allows companies to create groups for different sets of employees to share different documents).

All of the above offer round trip compatibility with Microsoft Word/Excel/PowerPoint.

But I think what makes ThinkFree really, truly awesome is the company's idea of what SaaS should be like. VP Marketing Jonathan Crow says that one of his most important priorities is DocExchange, a shared repository of user-submitted documents. Because there's more to online collaboration than sharing documents with people you already know. It's also about leveraging and building upon the enormous amount of collective knowledge out there - knowledge that would have been inaccessible without SaaS. SlideShare and Swivel will have to watch out; as DocExchange evolves, ThinkFree users will be able to view public slides/datasets/documents - and reuse them on the spot.

This is as exciting as Amazon's EC2 machine image sharing announcement earlier this year. As Amazon puts it, sharing accelerates community-wide innovation. Not coincidentally, ThinkFree's document viewer runs on EC2, and DocExchange files are stored on S3. (SlideShare is an S3 customer as well.)

Earlier today Dennis Howlett wrote that being a Connector (in the Tipping Point sense) is part of every service provider's job description. Some connections are specific (you could introduce two customers to each other), others are sort of self-organizing (SlideShare making customer A's knowledge accessible to B, C and D through tags, auto-recommendations, etc), and still others are implicit (Freshbooks making aggregated invoice data available to customers within the same industry).

In the future of SaaS, I think, winning vendors will get ahead by being the best Connectors rather than the snazziest technology providers. (Which is why biggest community wins.) ThinkFree is well on its way. Google will most likely catch up. And Zoho; I'd bet on that. 1&1 CEO Andreas Gauger tells eWeek that he hopes to generate more SaaS than hosting revenues within 3-4 years. Could it happen? While he's got a sizable customer base, he's far from being in the Connector business. If I were him, I'd give TJ a call :)

Cheers to Peer 1 for an entertaining post. Also don’t forget about their related contest too:

Life is full of questions; so this article was written with the intention of solving the question on web hosting sites review. Sure do hope that your questions have been answered.

Handango Inc.
Great Expectations

dedicated server